assault, red horizon 41, games, board game, easy to learn, tactical wargame About Assault – Assault Games

Assault Games

Tactics, Board Game, Wargames, Consim, Simulation, Fun

About Assault

Assault – Red Horizon 41

Game Description

 

Assault – Red Horizon 41 is the first volume in a planned series of tactical level wargames in which players lead historical units into battle during Operation Barbarossa (June through October 1941). Two factions – the German Army and the Soviet army – fight one another by use of infantry, artillery and armored units.

Assault – Red Horizon 41 is intentionally not intended to be an accurate simulation, but rather it abstracts certain aspects in favor of playability and manageable game length to convey the feeling of comprehensive tactical combat situations.

 

Game Mechanics and rules:

 

Assault – Red Horizon 41 is a turn-based, semi-historical system with a modular ruleset. A Turn consists of 5 different Phases:

  • Initiative,
  • Planning,
  • Support,
  • Action,
  • and Organization (Cleanup).

Players use Command points to activate units in order to achieve the goals and victory conditions. Combat is resolved using six-sided customized symbolic dice in conjunction with cards.

Overall, the Assault game system is modular: the rule-set contains basic-, unit-specific-, and optional rules to help beginners delve into the game and in the various maps can be assembled as desired to form new scenarios.

What makes the game different from the competition:

 

Basically, the Assault game system is completely modular and accommodating to the gamer. There are different scenarios that the players can choose from, and within these scenarios, the Order of Battle can vary through the use of Formation Cards. In each scenario, rather than being given a set Order of Battle, the players choose random Formation Cards (infantry, artillery, or armor/vehicle) based on their faction. The Formation Cards give the player a certain number and type units available for the scenario. This ensures variation and regular surprises, since the make up of your forces will vary from game to game. It’s as if your high command has assigned you certain units to achieve a goal, so you will have to adjust your individual tactics based on the available units and objectives.

Units in the Assault system are activated by Command points. Players receive a certain number of Command points, which are listed on the Formation cards. Before Command Phase, players secretly decide (behind a small screen or divider) which units to activate in the current turn. The Command point allowance lets the player to activate approximately 75% of all available units. Thus, players must set priorities for the turn. Not only does this speed up the game play, since all units are not used in each turn, but it also makes for some exciting moments in the fight.

In the Assault game system, we have tried to minimize the counter stacking issue. With many game systems in the hobby, you can find towers of counters and markers on certain hexes of the game board. The overview is then quickly lost. In Assault, there is a clear limit of one unit counter per hex, with the exception being units in Transport. In addition, there is usually only one command and/or status marker. Regarding Command and Unit State Markers, we have devised a simple double-marker system: each marker is double-sided and after the end of the round, in the Organization Phase, the markers are flipped or removed according to their color. This goes pretty quickly.

In general, Assault has attempted to emphasize game flow. The fact that Command Points are assigned to activate units in the Planning Phase accelerates the game. Since the units to be activated are already established before the Action Phase, there is less for the player to think about and fewer opportunities for AP to set in.

Another aspect that sets Assault apart from the competition is our Tactical Campaign System (still in development) which, thus far, will be an optional rule. We have designed a system whereby multiple scenarios can be linked with a variable starting set up for each subsequent scenario dependent upon how many of the victory conditions each side achieves. For example, if the Germans can achieve a Decisive Victory in the first scenario, they will have an advantage of position in the second scenario. Then, if the Soviets can achieve a Minor Victory in the second scenario, the Germans will find themselves slowed down in the third. Units will also be able to earn XP of sorts, to improve their damage capability and earn special abilities that can be used later. Of course it will still be possible to play through scenarios one by one, but the Tactical Campaign System will allow players to inject an element of unpredictability and a new level of challenge into the historical flow of Operation Barbarossa.

Conclusion:

Overall, the Assault system is modular and can be expanded as desired. A game can be finished on a single map scenario in as little as 1 to 2 hours. If you have more time available, you can also take an entire day for a battle using larger maps with multiple tiles. Players should be able to learn the game rather quickly. The basic rules are fixed and future expansions will not lead to new rule flooding and make the game confusing.

Assault Games © 2018 Frontier Theme

assault, red horizon 41, games, board game, easy to learn, tactical wargame Was ist Assault? – Assault Games

Assault Games

Taktik, Brettspiel, Kriegsspiel, Konsim, Simulation, Spaß

Was ist Assault?

Assault – Red Horizon 41

Spielbeschreibung

 

Assault – Red Horizon 41 ist der erste Teil in einer geplanten Reihe von Spielmodule eines taktischen Systems. Die Spieler führen während der Operation Barbarossa (Juni bis Oktober 1941) historische Einheiten in die Schlacht. Zwei Fraktionen – die deutsche Armee und die Sowjetarmee – kämpfen mit Infanterie, Artillerie und Panzereinheiten um den Sieg.

Assault – Red Horizon 41 lehnt sich an historische Schlachten an und abstrahiert bestimmte Aspekte zugunsten der Spielbarkeit und der überschaubaren Spieldauer. Trotzdem wird das Gefühl umfassender taktischer Kampfsituationen vermittelt.

Spielmechanik und Regeln:

Assault – Red Horizon 41 ist ein rundenbasiertes semi-historisches System mit einem modularen Regelsatz. Ein Spielzug besteht aus 5 verschiedenen Phasen:

  • Initiative,
  • Planung,
  • Unterstützung,
  • Aktion
  • und Organisation.

Spieler verwenden Befehlspunkte, um Einheiten zu aktivieren, um die Ziele und die Siegbedingungen zu erreichen. Der Kampf wird mit sechsseitigen benutzerdefinierten Symbolwürfeln in Verbindung mit Karten gelöst.

Insgesamt ist das Assault-Spielsystem modular aufgebaut: Der Regelsatz enthält grundlegende, Einheiten spezifische und optionale Regeln um Anfängern beim Einstieg in das Spiel zu helfen. Modular verwendbare Kartenteile können nach Wunsch zu neuen Szenarien zusammengestellt können.

Was unterscheidet das Spiel von Anderen:

Grundsätzlich ist das Assault-Spielsystem vollständig modular und passt sich dem Spieler an. Es gibt verschiedene Szenarien, aus denen die Spieler wählen können. Innerhalb dieser Szenarien kann die Aufstellung der Einheiten für die Schlacht durch die Verwendung von sog. Formationskarten variieren. In jedem Szenario wählen die Spieler, basierend auf ihrer Fraktion, anstatt vorgegebener Einheiten zufällige Formationskarten (Infanterie, Artillerie oder Fahrzeug). Die Formationskarten geben an welche Anzahl und Typen Einheiten dem Spieler für das Szenario zur Verfügung stehen. Dies sorgt für Abwechslung und regelmäßige Überraschungen, da die Zusammensetzung Ihrer Streitkräfte von Spiel zu Spiel variieren kann. Es ist, als ob der Spieler vom Vorgesetzten bestimmte Einheiten zugewiesen bekommt. Daher müssen die Spieler ihre individuellen Taktiken auf die verfügbaren Einheiten und Ziele anpassen.

Die Einheiten im Spiel werden durch sog. Kommandopunkte aktiviert. Die Spieler erhalten eine bestimmte Anzahl von Kommandopunkten welche auf den Formationskarten angegeben sind. Vor der Befehlsphase entscheiden die Spieler geheim (hinter einem Sichtschutz), welche Einheiten in der aktuellen Runde aktiviert werden sollen. Die Befehlspunkte erlauben dem Spieler ungefähr 75% aller verfügbaren Einheiten zu aktivieren. Daher müssen die Spieler Prioritäten für eine Spielrunde setzen. Da nie alle Einheiten in jedem Zug verwendet werden können, beschleunigt dies nicht nur den Spielablauf, sondern sorgt auch für aufregende Momente im Gefecht.

Im Assault-Spielsystem haben wir versucht, das Problem mit den sog. „counterstacks“ zu minimieren. Bei vielen Spielsystemen in diesem Bereich findet man ganze Türme mit Einheitenplättchen. Dabei geht die Übersicht schnell verloren. In Assault gibt es ein eindeutiges Limit von einem Einheitsplättchen pro Feld. Außerdem gibt es normalerweise nur eine Befehls- und / oder Statusmarkierung. In Bezug auf die Befehls- und Statusmarker haben wir ein Doppelmarker System entwickelt: Jeder Marker ist doppelseitig. Nach dem Ende der Runde werden die Marker in der Organisationsphase entsprechend ihrer Farbe gedreht oder entfernt. Das geht ziemlich schnell.

Wir haben ein großes Augenmerk darauf gelegt den Spielfluss zu optimieren. Die Tatsache, dass Befehlspunkte vorab zugewiesen werden, beschleunigt das Spiel erheblich, da die zu aktivierenden Einheiten bereits vor der Aktionsphase ausgewählt wurden.

Ein weiterer Aspekt, der Assault von seinen Mitbewerbern unterscheidet, ist unser Tactical Kampagnen System (noch in der Entwicklung). Wir haben ein System entwickelt, dass mehrere Szenarien mit einer variablen Startaufstellung für jedes nachfolgende Szenario kombiniert. Jedes Folgeszenario ist vom Vorherigen abhängig. Z.B. wenn eine Fraktion im ersten Szenario einen entscheidenden Sieg erringen konnte, so hat sie im zweiten Szenario einen Vorteil. Außerdem können Einheiten Erfahrung sammeln und bestimmte Werte steigern.

Fazit:

Insgesamt ist das Assault-System modular aufgebaut und kann beliebig erweitert werden. Ein Spiel kann für ein einzelnes Szenario in nur 1 bis 2 Stunden abgeschlossen werden. Wenn mehr Zeit zur Verfügung steht, kann man auch sehr lange an einem Szenario spielen. Durch die modulare und logische Regelstruktur ist der Einstieg in das Spiel erleichtert.

Assault Games © 2018 Frontier Theme